Transparent price-and-scope snapshot · Metro Detroit · September 2026
2026 Metro Detroit Carpet Cleaning Price & Scope Index
A sourced comparison of publicly listed residential carpet-cleaning prices and the scope behind them. Compare room-size limits, minimums, included areas, disclosed cleaning steps and promotional status before comparing the headline price.
Data verified September 5, 2026Room size
How many square feet can be counted as one room or area?
Cleaning scope
Does the published price state inspection, pre-vacuuming, treatment, extraction, rinsing and drying work?
Included areas
Are hallways, stairs, closets, landings or furniture movement included or separately counted?
Price status
Is the number a regular package, a range, a limited-time special or only a starting price?
Compare published scope before price
| Provider | Maximum stated room size | Hallway treatment | Published minimum | Cleaning scope stated on reviewed page | Price status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clean It Best | 300 sq. ft. | Included with 3-, 4- and 5-room packages | $169 | Pre-inspection, pre-vacuuming, prespray, standard spot treatment, hot-water extraction, neutralizing rinse, dry passes and final walkthrough | Regular package |
| Modernistic | 300 sq. ft. | Counted as a room or area when included in the job | $129–$164 | Spot and spill treatment, standard furniture moving and service guarantee | Published range |
| Goodson Steemer | Not stated | One hallway included | $85 | Truck-mounted steam cleaning and deodorizer stated | Published package |
| Capital Carpet | 200 sq. ft. | Included in the displayed two- and three-room offers | Not stated | Pre-spotting, hand treatment of corners, truck-mounted hot-water extraction and fresh scent stated | Limited-time wording, no expiration shown |
| Central Carpet Cleaning & Dye | Not stated | Free hallway displayed | Not stated | Low-moisture steam extraction stated | Currently visible special |
Where Clean It Best sits
Clean It Best is deliberately positioned as a premium, complete-process provider. Its published packages are near the top of this advertised-price sample, while its pricing page also discloses room limits, cleaning steps, add-ons, stairs, hallways, closets, pet-treatment tiers and final price approval.
If lowest advertised price is the only priority, another listed offer may cost less. If process clarity, a larger stated room limit and a clearly defined scope matter, compare those details before choosing.
Why this helps shoppers
The reviewed pages do not describe identical jobs. A three-room package may cover rooms up to 200 or 300 square feet, may include a hallway or count it separately, and may disclose very different cleaning steps.
This index keeps unknown fields marked as not stated. It does not assume that an unstated service is missing, and it does not award a quality ranking.
Observed advertised-price benchmark
These figures summarize the public prices after the scope differences above have been made visible. They are not adjusted estimates of equal work.
2 rooms
sample median
$79.95 to $174 observed · n=5
3 rooms
sample median
$119.95 to $239 observed · n=5
4 rooms
sample median
$139.95 to $299 observed · n=4
5 rooms
sample median
$159.95 to $379 observed · n=4
Explore the advertised-price benchmark
Select a room count to see the sample median and full publicly listed range. The range includes provider ranges and currently visible package offers. It is a shopping reference, not a quote.
Observed range: $119.95 to $239 across 5 publicly priced providers.
Raw provider prices used in the index
| Provider and source | 2 rooms | 3 rooms | 4 rooms | 5 rooms | Room definition and material scope note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clean It Best Published package | $169 | $239 + hallway | $299 + hallway | $379 + hallway | Standard room up to 300 sq. ft. Published scope includes pre-inspection, pre-vacuuming, prespray, standard spotting, hot-water extraction, rinse, dry passes and walkthrough. |
| Modernistic Published range | $154–$174 | $189–$209 | $224–$254 | $259–$299 | Room or area up to 300 sq. ft. Stairways count as a room. Page lists standard furniture moving, spot and spill treatment, and a service guarantee. Metro Detroit availability was cross-checked on the provider’s Detroit service page. |
| Goodson Steemer Published package | $99 + hallway | $125 + hallway | $145 + hallway | $165 + hallway | Page includes one hallway and deodorizer. A maximum room size is not stated on the reviewed pricing page. Listed in-home minimum: $85. |
| Capital Carpet Currently visible special | $96.95 + hallway | $126.95 + hallway | Not published | Not published | Average room up to 200 sq. ft. The page describes the pricing as limited-time, but displays no expiration date. Included as a currently visible offer and flagged as promotional. |
| Central Carpet Cleaning & Dye Currently visible special | $79.95 + hallway | $119.95 + hallway | $139.95 + hallway | $159.95 + hallway | The reviewed page lists a free hallway but does not state a maximum room size. Included as currently visible public package pricing. |
Methodology
What was excluded
- Quote-only providers with no visible numeric price
- Social-media posts and offers that could not be verified on a provider-controlled website
- Coupons with a stated expiration date that had already passed
- Membership-only or retailer-partner discounts
- Commercial, restoration, pet-remediation, upholstery and hard-surface pricing
- Duplicate city pages showing the same provider package
What the index does not measure
- Final invoice after inspection
- Cleaning quality, technician training or equipment
- Whether pre-vacuuming, rinsing, furniture moving or stain work is included unless the source states it
- Travel fees, difficult access or oversized rooms
- Pet urine, severe soil, specialty stains or subsurface contamination
- Customer satisfaction or overall provider value
Marketplace estimates for context
These estimates are shown separately and are not mixed into the provider-package medians:
| Source | Detroit estimate | How to interpret it |
|---|---|---|
| Thumbtack Detroit cost data | Typical total: $163–$294 Low: $106 · High: $454 | A modeled project-total range based on platform data, not a room-package price table. Updated April 22, 2026. |
| Angi Detroit cost data | Average total: $150 Observed article range: $108–$219 Steam cleaning: $40–$90 per room | A publisher estimate with multiple cost units. It is useful context but is not combined with the provider-controlled package sample. Updated February 25, 2026. |
Quote-comparison checklist
- Maximum square feet counted as one room
- Minimum appointment charge
- Hallways, stairs, closets and landings
- Pre-vacuuming and soil-removal process
- Spot treatment versus specialty-stain charges
- Rinsing, extraction and drying guidance
- Furniture-moving limits
- Pet urine and odor scope
- Travel, access and after-hours fees
- Final price approval before work starts
When replacement is also being considered, use the Michigan Clean vs. Replace Carpet Calculator with written quotes covering the same rooms and scope.
Update policy
This index should be refreshed quarterly while provider prices are changing and at least annually afterward.
- Revisit every included source URL
- Record price, room definition, inclusions and promotional status
- Add a provider only when numeric pricing is publicly verifiable
- Retain prior editions or a dated change log
- Correct errors when a provider supplies a current public source
Disclosure: Clean It Best publishes this index and is one of the sampled providers. Competitor inclusion is factual, unpaid and does not imply endorsement.
Compare a real Clean It Best scope
See the exact room definitions, included cleaning process, packages and add-ons before requesting an appointment. Commercial facilities should use the separate Commercial Carpet Maintenance Budget Calculator for annual cadence and cash-flow planning. Clean It Best confirms the approved scope and price before additional work begins.
View Clean It Best pricing Residential carpet cleaningResearch notes
Collection date: September 5, 2026. Sample size: five provider-controlled public-price pages. Package-level n varies because not every provider publishes every room count. All prices are shown in U.S. dollars and were transcribed from the linked pages. No company was contacted, paid or mystery-shopped for this edition.
